A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member and D2 S8 owner

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2023, 01:31 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default New member and D2 S8 owner

Hi all.

I acquired a 2003 S8 a couple of months ago. I've since read thru about 20 pages of comments and advise. This seems to be a very helpful and knowledgeable group and I have questions. I've been owning and maintaining specialty cars for 40 years however my IT and internet skills are limited.
I'm an enthusiast of older supersedans and older sports cars, primarily Porsches. I currently own a 1992 Mercedes 500E which I have restored completely with the help of a similarly knowledgeable forum so I'm familiar with and expect to encounter lack of parts availability. On to the car...

The car is a 2003, black on tan, that was a lease car among three or four dealers and was maintained by the book for around 100,000 miles. It currently has 150,000 miles on it and is in excellent shape. It's been serviced mostly by the dealership. I've taken it to a local good, but expensive shop for a few issues and to get a baseline to work from. I'm not versed in OBD testing or scanners (see above) but willing to learn in time.
These are the current issues according to their inspection and smoke test..

ABS light on for rotational rate sensor.
Transmision warning due to failed range switch
Rear diff leaking on the passenger side
Fuel flange on passenger side of tank needs to be replaced (CEL)

Questions/comments
Is the rotational rate sensor found under the drivers seat inside the car? If so, how is it removed? Loosen the seat and tilt it for access?