A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Mobile 1 quality

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2002, 10:00 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default As an electrical engineer I can't understand what's the deal with cables.

Even copper plumbing fittings are made from electro deposited copper, making it virtually 100% pure copper. Wire/cable is at least as pure, if you get it from any source that I am familiar with. I have seen $1000 RCA connector cables with gold conductors, that's right solid gold, but I can't imagine what good it does for the sound or video quality. I think Romex would make as good a speaker wire as Monster Cable and it costs about 1/25th as much. With the shift to digital signals, whether by coax, twisted pair or fiber optic cable, the quality of the cable becomes even less significant. If the signal gets through at all then the sound or video will be as good as it possibly can be.

As for Mobil 1, I don't know if it is as good as it used to be but I would be very interested in someone steering me to some actual data on the subject.
Old 08-23-2002, 10:05 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default One Hundred Million Dollars! (Sorry, I still need to see the latest Austin Powers... =)

I think the point with the Monster Cable analogy is to say that while they may have become very popular, and sell a whole lot now, they're no longer very high end. Much better than radio shack, but far from Transparent Audio, for example...

That said, I have no idea how the oils compare! =)
Old 08-23-2002, 10:13 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Hearing is believing...

Poor digital interconnect has significant transmission line ground bounce, leading to jitter. Copper cable conductivity is not uniform, and neither is the noise picked up or shielded from, by a cable. It's all extremely audible, and often measureable.