A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Yet another newby thread about changing transmission fluid. Sorry, guys

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2014, 08:08 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet another newby thread about changing transmission fluid. Sorry, guys

At least I did my homework and read a bunch of old ones, thereby reducing the number of annoying questions to bother y'all with.

I'll make it quick. Just inherited 2000 A6 2.8 with ~170k miles from my aunt. Trans shift ok, but sorta hunts/jerks/feels uneven when trying to keep a steady speed around 30-40 mph. And makes that burnt tranny smell. I want to go ahead and risk it and change fluid. I know it "might" be too late, but if I wait it definitely "will" be.

I can not even remotely afford a to have a dealer do it, so I will do it myself. Luckily I have been fixing cars and computers for 15 years, so no problem. I found a guy in Palo Alto who rents the vag-com cable for a few bucks a day. My only questions are these:
1: Can I use any of the ATF fluids available at a local Autozone? I know Audi fluid is recommended but it is retardedly expensive for no reason beside that it's Audi. These are the people who tried to charge me $400 for an oil pan couple of weeks ago (a simple two pound piece of aluminum, available at NAPA for a moderately overpriced $120). And I don't have time to wait for the online-only brand to get here, need to do the job today-ish. I saw Mobil 1 Synthetic mentioned. Any thoughts?
2: The hand pump / injector thingity for getting the fluid in. I talked to the lady at Autozone and she had no idea what I was talking about. What is the usual name for that thing? Seems like a common item, maybe I'm just miscommunicating.

Well that's about it, unless I'm missing anything. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 02-04-2014, 08:25 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Originally Posted by SevaA6