A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Looking for tips on inner cv boot replacement -- A6 4.2 Tripod joint AAR 3300 i

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2009, 08:59 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for tips on inner cv boot replacement -- A6 4.2 Tripod joint AAR 3300 i

Hello all,

I need to replace the inner cv boot on the right front axle/half shaft. Has anyone done this without the special vag puller t40018 or a hydrolic press? I am a pretty decent home mechanic and willing to try most anything once but am unsure how to safely sepperate this joint or remove the triple roller star from the shaft.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Michael

PS
this is the tripod/roller type joint not the type with *****<ul><li><a href="http://www.csupomona.edu/~bvnorum/C5_1998-2005_tripod_AAR3300i.pdf">VAG Instructions for boot replacement</a></li></ul>
Old 03-08-2009, 10:16 AM
AudiWorld Member

Default Replace the whole axle - you have to take it out anyhow...

so it's easier and cheaper to replace the whole axle at once.
Old 03-08-2009, 10:21 AM
AudiWorld Member

easier, yes. cheaper, i hope not! barely can pay for the boot kit
Old 03-08-2009, 11:18 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Disagree. Why spend an extra $125 if you don't have to? Clean the joint, replace the boot.
Old 03-08-2009, 11:39 AM
AudiWorld Member

completly agree! glad to know i'm not the only audi owner who works for a living ;p
Old 03-08-2009, 12:17 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default I rocognize that link! I think you read my thread about the same thing....

I'm still waiting for my inner boot kit to get here. According to that guy that posted in my thread last week, you can do it without the special tool. You just need to really pay attention to how everything goes back together.
Old 03-08-2009, 02:39 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default If the boot is torn, it's time...