A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Front seat removal

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2013, 09:17 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front seat removal

I need to get a Bentley manual but in the meantime can anyone give me some tips on removing the front seats from my '00 A6 as not to set off the airbags inside them? As I explained in my other thread, I'm an Audi newbie who was given this car for free after being driven by a family member who abused it. I intend to clean it, fix it, and drive it.

The reason I want to remove the seats is because I'd like to remove the carpets so that I can clean them. I took this photo today as I was emptying the trash out of the car before putting it in the garage to work on. This isn't even the worst of it:

Old 11-16-2013, 10:27 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 74 Posts

Originally Posted by NEU!
I need to get a Bentley manual but in the meantime can anyone give me some tips on removing the front seats from my '00 A6 as not to set off the airbags inside them? As I explained in my other thread, I'm an Audi newbie who was given this car for free after being driven by a family member who abused it. I intend to clean it, fix it, and drive it.

The reason I want to remove the seats is because I'd like to remove the carpets so that I can clean them. I took this photo today as I was emptying the trash out of the car before putting it in the garage to work on. This isn't even the worst of it:

All you have to do is disconnect the battery, wait 30 minutes, then remove the seats. Couple bolts in the middle of the fronts (seats slide back then lift up).
BUT…why go through all that work? Just get a Dr. Rug or carpet machine from Giant or Safeway or whatever and clean them in place. Or take it to an upholstery shop or detailer and have them do it.
Old 11-16-2013, 11:11 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts