A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

2002 A6 W/ KO4 Turbos problem help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2014, 02:35 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 A6 W/ KO4 Turbos problem help!!!

Hey folks,

So im new to owning an Audi!! I just bought my first one, a 2002 A6 with KO4 turbos and a 6 speed manual. I have some issues with it i was wondering if i could get some help on.

1st off, I am new to the turbo scene. I know how turbos work and i have seen a lot of videos with turbos.

THE PROBLEM....
When im doing normal driving, aka not flooring it, it drives fine. i get no faults, no check engine light, no anything. runs and shifts smooth. perfect car.
However.... if i slam on the gas, it shakes... it kind of acts like it wants to go, but then sits there and shakes for about 2 seconds, then goes. once the boost kicks in, it halls ***. however getting the boost to kick in it just shakes, a lot. it does it at pretty much any speed in any gear besides 1st..

The guy i bought it from said that it was the Charged Air Pressure Sensor not being calibrated to the bigger turbo's? He said that the waste gates were opening up too soon and then shutting like they are supposed to before they reopen... i don't hear a bunch of rushing air, it just sounds like the engine is starved for fuel for a second, but i don't think its the injectors because it doesn't do it at the higher RPM's, just the lower one (around 2-3500k RPM)

I have an OBD-II reader, and I plugged it in. ive gotten a miss fire code P0300 only after it does the shuddering. when i put it on live data, and floor it, the check engine light flashes while its happening and the OBD says fuel system 1 and 2 are both " OL- FAULT"

im clueless ladies and gents. any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!!
Old 12-28-2014, 08:20 AM
AudiWorld Member