A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

02 Audi A6 2.7t running on kangaroo juice

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2013, 12:41 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 Audi A6 2.7t running on kangaroo juice

Hi all,
loving your forum and the great tips you have on here! I'm already building a list ofjobs from your tech articles - slow wiper fix and leaking rocker gasket.

This is my first post askingfor help so please be gentle with me
After rebuilding and owning various landrover defenders for the past 12 years, I finally succumbed to owning something comfortable and fast – ending up with an audi 2002 a6 allroad 2.7t 6sp manual with 170k on the clock with full audi main dealer history.
By heck, its a quick car! Leaps forward like a scalded cat!!!

Anyway I’ve been enjoying it for a few months and its now developed a slight problem. Someone seems to have put Kangaroo juice into the engine. Idle is slightly rough, maybe varying by 50-80rpm up and down. Also when cruising with very light throttle it kangaroos, feels like it hesitates for a ¼ second then picks up, then hesitates, picks up etc etc etc. We’re not taking neck braking jolts, but you can feel it. Simillar thing happens on over run, you would expect the engine braking to be smooth, but it sort of feels like is ‘varies’ every half a second or so. As soon as you use any real throttle – maybe 10% or above – its absolutely fine. Full throttle is still hilariously fun! The really bazaar thing is that the amount it kangaroos can change from journey to journey, sometimes completely absent, other times quite bad.
First thing I did was unplug the MAF sensor. No change. Bum.

So I bought a cheap vagcom cable and installed vcds-lite and read the codes.
17861 - Exhaust Gas Temp Sensor 1 (G235): Open or Short to Plus
P1453 - 35-00 - -
17865 - Shareware Version. To Decode all DTCs
P1457 - 35-00 - Please Register/Activate