Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Developing Road Noise

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2013, 10:20 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Developing Road Noise

On a recent road trip (about 1700 round trip), I noticed that I had more road noise than I expected. When I returned from the trip, I took the car in for 15000 mile service, and asked the service tech to have a look for me.

The report is that I have some cupping on the tires (Bridgestone RE970AS). Up until now, they have been VERY quiet, and I have been happy with them. They were installed at 4344, rotated at 13257, and the 15K service was done at 15838. The Audi service tech asked me about whether I had hit anything that might have knocked the alignment out - which I have not.

So... Im no tire expert. I cant imagine how the car would be out of alignment from normal driving conditions (I have never hit a curb, or even any significant potholes). Is it possible that the tire shop knocked it out of alignment when installing or rotating? Perhaps it was out of alignment on delivery (Im going to check my stored P zeros to see if there is any evidence of cupping which could indicated the car has always been out of alignment).

Appreciate any thoughts anyone might have.

JC
Old 10-25-2013, 11:20 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 99 Likes on 44 Posts

What tire pressures have you been using on the RE970AS and have they ever been rotated front to back? Mine have 17K and are wearing evenly with no appreciable noise since new. I use 35psi/32psi f/r as recommended in the manual for 19" A/S unless going on a long trip with a full load. My tread gauge shows about 40% usable tread left. Should get about 30-35K miles out of the set.

Last edited by snagitseven; 10-25-2013 at 11:22 AM.
Old 10-25-2013, 11:35 AM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by snagitseven