Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Tire newby

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2016, 07:36 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire newby

Hey Guys,

I have millions of questions, but I'm trying not to ask them all at the same time. I have noticed that my car has somewhat of used up tires. I am not a tire expert and before I go to a shop and get persuaded to purchase a new set of tires. I thought I may ask you guys. I saw these tires on tire rack for a very reasonable price. Sumitomo HTR A/S P02 (W-Speed Rated)

These seem a little cheap, but reviews and specs show that they are worth it. I am not one to buy cheap with a nice car, but if I could save some money here and still get a good product due to brand name I am definitely willing to purchase these. I would like your guys opinions on these.
Old 05-03-2016, 08:10 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 102 Likes on 81 Posts

Go for Michelin Pilot Sports for the warm weather and get a second set of wheels with full on snow tires for the winter. The car will be unstoppable!
Old 05-03-2016, 08:12 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

It does well against other crap tires but its not in the same league as the good tires. I would absolutely spend the extra 80 bucks a tire and pop for a DWS at the least. Tires are everything when it comes to a car. They affect braking, handling, ride, steering feel...everything. If there is any place to splurge, its on the tires. You can make a 70K car feel worse than a 20K car by putting on crap tires.

Mike
Old 05-03-2016, 08:24 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Let's keep it simple! Stay with the same size as current:

If you prefer comfort/quite/smoothness more than anything else: Michelin Premier A/S

If you like a balance of comfort/quiet and enjoy some more steering/handling performance: Continental DWS06