Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Newbie with A6 questions - LED vs Zenon Headlights

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 08:26 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with A6 questions - LED vs Zenon Headlights

Hi all, I'm new to Audi but getting very close to buying an A6. This will be my first "fun" car in quite a while (been doin the SUV family car thing for a while now). I've test driven the BMW 535i, Infinity M37, Lexus GS..., and others, and the Audi A6 just feels right. But the options are overwhelming - wheel size, sport tuned suspension, etc. For this thread let me ask just one question - if you have an A6 with the LED Headlights, are you satisfied with the brightness and range of coverage compared to the zenon lights? I read an article on Consumer Reports.org that said they weren't impressed with the LED headlights. I'd appreciate any feedback from users.

thanks,
bob - soon to be an A6 owner!
Old 09-12-2012, 03:51 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

The LED headlights are really nice, I find them more that suitable for night driving. It's one of the reasons I chose the A6.
Old 09-12-2012, 04:04 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 99 Likes on 44 Posts

The only article reference that I saw online from Consumer Reports re the LED headlights was that they were "cool". Maybe you have to have a subscription to see other CR A6 articles (which I would never do as I'm not a fan of the magazine). I did watch their You Tube video they posted but while the reviewer made no mention of the LED headlights, he did provide some inaccuracies, i.e. dynamic setting affects suspension and nitpicks, i.e. Google Earth is bad as it draws your attention away from driving (huh?) and the MMI system was too confusing for him. (Perhaps he would have been happy with a bicycle - no confusing controls or Nav to distract him). At least the review was positive overall though.