Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Auto start/stop

Old 12-08-2015, 08:17 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 50 Likes on 37 Posts
Default Auto start/stop

I am still learning new things about my 2016 A6. It seems odd to me that when auto stop/start was engaged and I was stopped as at a traffic light (the green “A” lit) when I undid the seat belt (so I could wiggle to be able to get my wallet out of my jeans) the engine shut off. I then had to put the car in P and restart it using the start button.
I tried the same thing when auto start/stop was not engaged and the engine stayed running when I undid the seat belt. Is this normal?
Old 12-08-2015, 08:26 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by irenesbob
I am still learning new things about my 2016 A6. It seems odd to me that when auto stop/start was engaged and I was stopped as at a traffic light (the green “A” lit) when I undid the seat belt (so I could wiggle to be able to get my wallet out of my jeans) the engine shut off. I then had to put the car in P and restart it using the start button.
I tried the same thing when auto start/stop was not engaged and the engine stayed running when I undid the seat belt. Is this normal?
It's hard to use the idea of "normal" with this awful feature. Ours stopped the engine twice in the first week during stop and go traffic and refused to restart. It flashed a message saying a manual restart was needed....put in Park, hit ignition button again, reengaged Drive, all while on a local interstate at rush hour...freaked my wife out, who was driving. The dealer had no diagnosis. Tried to get a buy-back from Audi. Finally had the feature permanently killed....a well-earned fate for that dreaded technology. Suggest you do the same.

Last edited by Sportstick; 12-08-2015 at 08:34 AM.
Old 12-08-2015, 09:25 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by irenesbob