A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Will AMI play Navigon turnbyturn thru speakers?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2012, 08:24 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will AMI play Navigon turnbyturn thru speakers?

Just traded in my 2005 A6 for a 2012 A4 (so far so good!) and this one doesn't have nav. I plan on buying the Navigon Iphone app which should be perfect for my needs but the speakers on the Iphone don't provide much volume. If I plugged it in to the AMI would the turn by turn go through the car speakers? Would love to just purchase an app instead of a standalone nav unit. Thoughts?
Old 05-28-2012, 01:53 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

I have no experience with Navigon but I do use the Waze app and it actually goes wirelessly right through Bluetooth (not ami) as if it was a phone call, and then put whatever was playing (radio/mp3 etc) right back on. The app itself is pretty good if you turn off a lot of the non-necessary crap it comes with - just to get the map less crowded. Oh and it's free, which is always nice. If you end up going with waze, let me know and I could try to help you out with some useful settings.
Old 05-31-2012, 05:22 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Thanks for the reply, I ended up getting the Navigon app. It is downloaded to the my old iphone so it doesn't use any data (Navigon stores onto the harddrive). It plays perfectly thru the cars speakers and I just ordered a AMI cable extender and found a spot to fish it through the back of the glovebox so I can always have the Nav unit handy.
Old 06-01-2012, 05:57 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by GoCubsGo