A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

Audi A4. learning manual transmission Help!

Old 04-19-2014, 04:06 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audi A4. learning manual transmission Help!

Hi everyone. I love my a4 manual I just bought, but I'm new to MT and am struggling to go from a standstill with the clutch. It's a '06 manual A4 2.0T. With 50k miles. The clutch feels soft vs a older B6 manual I drove which was heavy and required plenty of pressure. I can feel the catch point about mid way from the pedal to fully up, but maybe I'm releasing it too quickly and not giving gas fast enough. I keep stalling I just love everything else and know once I get past this hurdle I'll be in driving heaven. I've mastered reverse in which basically just holding slow on the clutch will move enough to back out. But getting out into first gear is such a struggle for me. I know it's only day two driving but the stalls are very embarrassing. I just wish while slowly releasing the clutch that it would be more forgiving if not enough gas was given. I'm terrified into running into someone's rear so i don't want to launch forward like a rocket is this clutch overly sensitive? I feel that the times I've done it right from a standstill that it required a lot of focus any advice would be deeply appreciated!

Last edited by mezonesxbox; 04-19-2014 at 04:09 PM.
Old 04-20-2014, 10:56 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default Day 3 update lol