A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

So who are you people anyway?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2022, 04:58 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So who are you people anyway?

I'm about four years into the Audi world and I'm continually impressed by the drivers i meet IRL and online. I guess I'm speaking to you guys specifically, people with 20 year old cars. The first 10 times I had a question I would search the topic and find some thread from 2009 detailing my exact problem. The discussions are always useful and too the point. It seems like everyone who owns a B5 has actually worked on it to some extent.
I'm a career mechanic, so my perception of what job I can tackle is a little skewed. When I put an engine in my car that was probably the 30th engine I'd swapped. But there's no way you're all mechanics.
I'm curious about the Audi owners who bake cakes, or fight fires or...ect, and then come home on the weekend and put coil-overs on in their driveway.
I've met the guy who says, "I put A,B and C on my car" and what he means is, "I took my car to a shop for A,B,C." but so many forum user experiences are way too detailed be faking it.
So, if you do something other than turn a wrench in your day job and yet you pop the hood on your B5, I salute you. It's really impressive and I'm very happy to be in the culture centered on these cars
Cheers!
Old 01-18-2022, 09:22 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 92 Likes on 88 Posts

Ya for me it all started with a yahoo at Mr Lube who didn’t tighten my oil filter properly. I came out of the store to a big puddle of oil under the car. After the botched oil change, I said that I’d never take my car to another oil place again and so my life of car maintenance would change the rest of my life.