A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Electrical Chaos (door locks and anti-theft)

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2011, 10:29 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical Chaos (door locks and anti-theft)

I hate for my first post to be a problem, but unfortunately that's the way it is and i do have some questions. I just bought a mint 96 Audi A4 Quattro and while I'm not a complete newb about cars, Audi and German engineering are new to me. I have done many searches and noticed people with the same problems as me but i have yet to find my fix. With that said...

<Problem 1>
The power door locks worked great up until last week, now I can't get them to work at all

- All doors seem to lock automatically (inconsistenly - eventually) even though i don't lock it
- I can unlock only one door at a time (manually I don't have a key FOB it's missing out of my key - I've always locked it by sticking my key in the door)
- Horn no longer chirps when I lock (or attempt to unlock) any door
- I can only lock it if the car "ghost" locks it for me, or by pushing down hard on the actual mechanical door lock

<Problem 2>
The factory alarm (horn) goes off sporatically. Sometimes it just honks a couple times intermittently, other times it blares the alarm horn constantly and I have no way to disable it or turn it off. Even while I am driving, the horn will blare and the red flashing warning light blinks faintly above the climate controls. So I am forced to pull the battery when I have it in my driveway. I pulled the fuse to the steering wheel horn thinking I would get lucky, but nope it still keeps going. I was told not to cut the wires to the factory horn alarm because my car wouldn't start so I didn't even try to locate it