A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Clicking sound from front end

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2013, 11:53 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clicking sound from front end

Hey guys, Im new to the Audi world but I'm not new to cars. This problem has kinda stumped me tho I think I may know whats wrong. A little history of the issue. I had kind of a clicking sound you could say for the past year now on my car which is a 97 A4 Quattro 5spd and it usually only happened when it was cold and i would downshift. Well latly it has gotten progressivly worse. It now sounds like a baseball card in the spokes of a bicycle wheel. It makes the sound loudly if i let off the gas or at a steady throttle. It also makes the sound as long as the car is moving when the clutch is pushed in or i let it coast in neutral but its not as loud. It also makes the sound when in reverse. When the car is sitting there are no abnormal noises at all. The car has 222,245 miles on it so i really dont rule anything out. All 4 wheel bearings have been replaced about 5000 miles ago so i really dont see those being a problem. The transmission shifts great through all the gears with no issues. The throwout bearing whines but only when i shift. Would this be a bad cv joint? I read they are kind of an issue with these cars. I just want to make sure thats what it would be before i order a new one. I kind of checked it out and i dont see any rips or tears in the boots which really dont mean anything. There in very minamal play with the axel itself. When i had the car off the ground tho the passenger side axel i could acually move around while the other 3 where solid. So thats why Im pointing at the passenger front cv joint being the culprit of my issue. Any insight would be great! Thanks guys.
Old 03-13-2013, 05:37 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member