Rings Gone on 72,000 mile 4.2 A6 HELP

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2007, 07:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rings Gone on 72,000 mile 4.2 A6 HELP

I have been monitoring oil consumption in my a6 for several months. I brought the car to Audi several months ago and they said they found nothing wrong. I closely monitored oil consumption and found that I was consuming 1 quart per 1000 miles. I brought the car to Audi who says that the rings are gone and that the only fix is a new short block at a cost of $11,000 in parts and $5,000 in Labor.

I have an aftermarket warrenty which covers rings "if the damage is caused by the failure of an internally lubricated componet"

Do rings fail for any other reason? The dealer said that the warrenty people may demand that the engine be torn down and THEN they will decide if the repair is covered. If course I can't take this chance.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated. I am in Mass. Is there a way to determine why the rings failed without tearing the engine apart? How can rings fail on a car with 72K which still to this day runs fine and even the dealer says that it really isn't an issue now except for keeping the oil level up.
Old 04-09-2007, 02:21 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Re: Rings Gone on 72,000 mile 4.2 A6 HELP

try runnining Restore thru it.Most warranty adjusters wont be able to tell whats wrong.A used motor will run 5k or less
Old 04-10-2007, 03:28 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default I would go to the nearest emission test facility and ask them to test it.