a few engine questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2009, 04:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a few engine questions

i've got a 97 a4 quattro with a 2.8 v6 12v. i like it so far, its a pain in the *** to work on, all the suspension and ball joints i just had to replace. i bought it as a project and am wondering what sort of performance upgrades can i look into? i hear the compression is to high to boost it. i'm new to audi, i previously owned an integra, probably one of the easiest cars to work on. but i'm in school to be a mechanic and i want to work on audis. so i figured why not start with my own. i havn't even gotten into the engine of the car yet, just been working underneath it. i havn't done much research into the car either so i figured i'd start here. just any basic knowledge towards the car, tricks and tips. just anything you think is important drop it by. i'd like this car to be a quick reliable car, but so far its not very quik and not very reliable. i have to do a compresion check on the cylinders to, something isn't running right. i don't know if its a vacuum leak or bad rings. but i'm gunna be tearing into that anyway so anything you want to say feel free. i'd be more then appreciative. you can email me as well.
Old 04-13-2009, 09:44 PM
Audiworld Junior Member